Skip to content

Feb. 23, 2014: The Unmarried

February 24, 2014

I took my mom out to breakfast for her birthday this morning. I blogged before that she had taken down the photo of me and Mara (who was still presenting as male back then) on our wedding day and replaced it with one of just me. This time, I noticed that she did the same with the photo of one of my nieces, who recently got divorced. But she still has a photo of one of my nephews and his wife on their wedding day, even though they’re divorced. I guess I’m reading too much into this. Maybe she just doesn’t have anything to replace that one with yet. But the bottom line is that she is categorizing me with people in the family who are no longer married. I’m one of the unmarried ones in her eyes.

I signed her birthday card, “Love, Mimi and Mara.” I had asked Mara if she wanted to wish my mom a happy birthday, and she said yes. She doesn’t hate the members of my family who hate her. As Martin Luther King Jr. said, “Hate begets hate.”

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

