Skip to content

Feb. 5, 2014: I Object

February 5, 2014

I ran across this article on a website called Take Part, via Upworthy: http://www.takepart.com/article/2014/01/30/transgender-suicide-attempts-alarmingly-high?cmpid=tp-ptnr-upworthy. This isn’t anything new, I’ve heard a similar statistic — that 41 percent of trans people have attempted suicide. Most do it because they have been bullied or discriminated against to the point of despair.

I’ve read that objectifying someone, or a certain demographic, makes it easy to abuse them, because the objectifiers, in their minds, strip those people of their humanity. Trans people, then, become “objects” of ridicule and abuse.

Pardon the pun, but I object. Trans people are not objects. I did not marry an object; I married a loving, caring, beautiful human being.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

