Skip to content

Sept. 23, 2013: Lucky Me

September 23, 2013

I just want to say how lucky I am to have Mara in my life. Yesterday, I was scared and weepy about my career. I left my job on Aug. 30 and am looking to reinvent myself. And even though I knew it was time to move on from my job, and I feel a tremendous freedom since I left, it’s still scary. Mara didn’t reprimand me for leaving my job without having another one lined up. She didn’t say “I told you so” or anything remotely like that. (In fact, she had encouraged me to do what I felt I needed to do when I was contemplating leaving my job.) She didn’t make me wrong, and she didn’t try and make me feel stupid or less than.

She encouraged me, helped me acknowledge what my attributes are (even wrote them down), told me how much she admires me and identified what I was going through as fear. And that’s just what it is. She also echoed something that I, and others, have said: that fear is an illusion. And in my case, it tends to immobilize me. And if I take action that’s contrary to what that illusion of fear is telling me, I will move in the direction I want to go. Most of all, she came from love and support.

This is the person I love. It goes beyond gender.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

