Skip to content

June 4, 2013: It’s OK to Laugh

June 5, 2013

The stand-up act on Saturday went really well. I got a laugh on the first joke. (“I’m married and we’re the typical couple; we both work and have retirement accounts; my husband is transgender and now lives as a woman…what, you meant some of you aren’t saving for retirement?”) But I didn’t start getting some good laughs until about three or four jokes after that. Then, they were pretty consistent.

Later, Mara said she got the feeling that most of the audience thought that I was putting them on about being married to a transsexual. And they finally started getting the jokes when they realized that it was true, because my jokes were all about that.

It’s interesting that I was taking a stand about our marriage, yet people weren’t quite ready to hear it. But when they did, especially seeing how comfortable I was, they felt at ease, like it was OK to laugh.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

