Skip to content

April 25, 2013: Shipping Out

April 26, 2013

I don’t know if I mentioned this before, but I’m a travel writer. So I was invited on a two-night “cruise to nowhere” aboard a ship that’s being positioned for Alaska cruises this summer. For the two-nighter, the ship will sail from Seattle and cruise around the San Juan Islands.

Anyway, a P.R. rep in L.A. was handling the press invitations here. We know each other, but she doesn’t know Mara (and she didn’t know her as a him, either). But she is going on the cruise, so I called her and came out to her about Mara. She was a little tentative at first, but was okay about it. I didn’t think she’d say Mara can’t come as my guest, but I didn’t want to do a “guerilla coming out.” That’s happened before, and it can be pretty awkward. I could just see me on the ship introducing Mara as my wife and having to explain everything, when the focus is supposed to be on the cruise and the ship. I’d rather get the explaining done ahead of time.

Next, I called the P.R. rep who is on staff at the cruise line. She has met Mara pre-transition; we went on an inaugural cruise aboard one of the line’s other ships out of the U.K. a few years ago. She was in a hurry, getting ready to go somewhere, and I had to make it quick. So I just told her without any preliminaries, like the fact that my husband has had a condition since he was born, etc. She was so accepting! She was even a little enthusiastic, and I got it that she’s looking forward to meeting Mara.

This will be Mara’s first cruise (she’s gone on several before transition), and it will be the first time she is traveling with me on a media trip as Mara. This is gonna be interesting.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

