Skip to content

Dec. 16, 2012

December 16, 2012

We’re leaving for Arizona in a few minutes. Mara’s surgery is Tuesday. Yesterday, we got lots of well wishes from friends, by text, email and phone, and in person. We sang with a holiday choir at the L.A. Mission and at Central Juvenile Hall. No one looked twice at Mara. BTW, she was singing in the tenor section and joined the altos, because we were short on people in that section. She did great, and I got to stand next to her.

Friday was her last day of having to present as male, ever. We woke up that morning and talked about it a little. Then, I said she’d better get in the shower so she’s not late for work. She responded by singing:

“I’m gonna wash that man right outta my hair,
I’m gonna wash that man right outta my hair,
I’m gonna wash that man right outta my hair,
And send him on his way.”

She gathered up all of her man clothes and put them aside, and when we return from Arizona, we’ll take them to a thrift store. She has a really nice Hugo Boss coat that she gave to a colleague at work. He is one of the people on her team, whom she came out to last week. BTW, those three people are very supportive. We were at Mara’s company holiday party on Friday night, the last time she will have to wear a sport coat, and the guy on her team, and his girlfriend, sat down with us. We talked about the transition. The other two people on her team are women. One gave her a Sephora gift card as a Christmas present. The other caught up with us as we were leaving. Whoa! She was so jazzed that she will be working with Mara! I think that, other than my cousin and one of our singing friends, she is the most enthusiastic of everyone we have come out to.

OK, time to go. I will miss my kitties. I miss them already. But our next door neighbor will take good care of them for us.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

