Skip to content

Nov. 6, 2012

November 7, 2012

Mara and I went to see “I Stand Corrected” last night. It’s a documentary about Jennifer Leitham (I’ve mentioned her before). She’s a world-class stand-up base player who has played in Mel Torme’s and Doc Severinson’s bands (as a man), and she transitioned several years ago. What I liked about the film was that it wasn’t a “woe is me” story about how hard it is to be trans and go through gender reassignment surgery. The film did include that part of her story but didn’t dwell on it. What it did dwell on was how she felt growing up and how she dealt with being trans before and after the transition, which was mostly positive. It focused a lot on her career and how, in the jazz music world, which was described as homophobic, she found acceptance among some top musicians and others in the industry. Very inspiring. I’ve been sick, but I saw it anyway, because it was only playing for one night as part of a film festival. I’m glad I did.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

