Skip to content

Oct. 28, 2012

October 28, 2012

I’m sitting at an airport in Florida, writing for my flight home to board. This was a quick, two-day business trip, and I was able to get away yesterday morning to meet my in-laws for breakfast. I’m glad I did. We talked about Mara, and I told them her company is bringing a diversity coach to her office in December, then sending an email about her to her colleagues when we’re in Scottsdale for her surgery. Mara’s dad was especially relieved, because Mara’s employability is his top concern with regard to the transition. I’m glad I was able to give him some peace of mind.

I showed them a video on my phone that Mara’s friend took when she played at a concert on her birthday a few weeks ago. (She had to be a guy, because many of the people who were there don’t know about Mara.) My in-laws were impressed and asked me to forward them the video. It is probably the last time they will see her perform as a guy.

I also showed them a photo of Mara from the last time she got a weave and our hair stylist blew her hair straight. She was wearing skinny jeans, and she looked great. So I hope this will help prepare them for when we come to stay with them for Thanksgiving. My father-in-law assumed that Mara still presented as a guy most of the time, and I told him she actually presents as a woman except when at work or in a situation where no one knows about Mara.

I can’t wait to get home. I miss Mara and my kitties.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

