Skip to content

Oct. 15, 2012

October 16, 2012

A friend of mine, who came to my wedding nearly 16 years ago, said something kind of disturbing to me. I wrote in this blog that, after we came out to them, certain members of my family have told me that I’m controlled by Mara. Now my friend tells me that that sentiment goes back even further — that he heard some of my family members say around the time of the wedding that they thought I was being controlled by my husband-to-be.

This is weird. Very weird. I never realized I was the black sheep of the family, but I guess I have been for a long time. It started with several family members giving me grief about going to college (I’m the only one among my siblings who has a four-year degree). They called me a snob, and still do. And now (and as far back as 16 years), they think I’ve been controlled.

I understand where they are coming from: they just can’t believe that I would choose to be married to a transsexual. But this is my choice. I can leave the relationship whenever I choose to, and Mara would let me go if I made that choice. Yes, she would be heartbroken, and so would I. But we both respect each other’s choices. And today, once again, I choose to stay.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

