Skip to content

Oct. 11, 2012

October 12, 2012

I had dinner with a friend tonight — one of my oldest and dearest friends. I was a little apprehensive, because when he suggested having dinner last week, he said that he wants to meet with me alone. And so far, people who have said that sort of thing to me, namely members of my family, have said it because they think I am under Mara’s control or they otherwise don’t want to acknowledge her. So I thought my friend had talked to them, and I called him a few days ago with my concerns. I told him that 1) if I don’t want to answer a particular question or talk about a certain topic, I won’t; and 2) since Mara and I are married, I’ll share everything he and I talk about with her. He agreed.

Turns out he wanted to meet with me because he did have some questions about our relationship that he felt he would be uncomfortable about with Mara there. For that matter, he would also be uncomfortable with his fiance sitting there. But when I told him that certain members of my family think I’m being controlled, he thought that was ridiculous. He’s known me for (dare I say) 33 years, and he knows I have my own beliefs and make up my own mind about things.

On another note, Mara’s birthday is this weekend. We’ll be low-key (it’s not a major birthday), but we’ll celebrate. Girls’ night out!!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

