Skip to content

Sept. 24, 2012

September 25, 2012

We had a pretty full weekend, with several people we know meeting Mara for the first time. On Saturday, we met with two of my cousins (sisters) and their husband and boyfriend for dinner. We had such a great time! My cousins are so accepting; and the fact that one is a retired counselor and the other is in a similar line of work doesn’t hurt, either. But they would be open-minded about our relationship anyway. They took our picture to show to their kids, and one of them commented on how happy I am. (Someone in my family in my generation gets it! Yay!)

On Sunday, we had a little pool party to celebrate the 50th birthday of a college roommate of mine. She met Mara last week, but a mutual friend and his wife, whom we came out to several months ago, were at the party and met Mara for the first time. They didn’t miss a beat. It was like she was Mara the whole time. The birthday girl’s sister, cousin and friend also came. Neither of us had met them before (with the exception of my meeting her sister briefly decades ago), but my old roommate told them about Mara before the party. People had questions, mostly out of curiosity. And the acceptance level was very high. This is the friend I blogged about awhile ago who had raised two kids and emailed me that my mom does love me unconditionally.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

