Skip to content

Sept. 3, 2012

September 3, 2012

A good friend of mine read my last posting and emailed me saying that I am misreading my mom; that she really does love me unconditionally; and that she just has a different worldview, which makes her question my choices. My friend was coming from the point of view of a mom (she raised two children). I don’t have kids, so I really didn’t think of it from that perspective, and I thanked my friend. I’m so glad I have people in my life who point things out to me when I don’t see the whole picture.

Speaking of worldviews, Mara came up with a great metaphore. As an architect, she used houses for her analogy: We all build our own houses, based on our worldviews. Some of us build very big houses with lots of room for other people to come and live or stay for awhile, no matter how big or small they are, no matter how different they are. Some of us have have smaller houses but are willing to build onto them when needed. Some of us can build those additions with hardly any effort, and others take awhile to build the additions, but we do it eventually. Some of us have smaller houses and don’t really want to built out to accommodate anyone else whom we don’t want to let in; and most of the time, that is due to fear. We feel safe inside our little houses. Some of us have houses with chapels built on, which represent our religion and/or spirituality, and we can build onto that part of the house, too. Some live in houses that are themselves churches, and they can be big or small, just like houses.

I think I built myself a house that’s on the smaller side, but so far, I’ve been willing to build onto it. Otherwise, I don’t think I would have had room for Mara. But I haven’t always kept my doors and windows open for all possibilities, and I want to keep them open , or at least unlocked.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

