Skip to content

August 26, 2012

August 26, 2012

When I was in Hawaii this past week, I had dinner with a longtime friend. She was a bridesmaid in our wedding. In fact, I think that, of all my friends, she was the first one to know about Mara. I remember when I had a crush on my teacher in the singing performance class. Our performance was taped, and I had shown the tape to my friend when she was still living in L.A. I had told her that I had a crush on my teacher (Mara had presented as male during the class), but I was unsure about getting into a relationship, because he was transgendered. (This was when I was in the middle of that tug o’ war between my head, saying, “no, no, no,” and my heart saying, “yes, yes, yes.”)

A few months ago, we called my friend and told her Mara was transitioning, and she was very supportive. And when I told her we’d call Mara from the restaurant in Hawaii this week, she said she wanted to see some photos of Mara en-femme, “or I’ll be talking to (insert Mara’s former, male name here).” LOL. So when we called Mara, I had the photo album of my phone open so my friend could see who she was talking to.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

