Skip to content

August 12, 2012

August 12, 2012

Mara and I had brunch yesterday with a a former college roommate of mine and her husband. They are from out of state and were in town for his high school reunion. They have two grown children, including one who was born as a female and is now representing as gender neutral, although I’ll use male pronouns here, because he takes testosterone and had his driver’s license changed to say “male.” Anyway, it was great to see them. I was a bridesmaid in their wedding. I was also glad that they got to meet Mara. And although we called them and came out to them months ago and heard their perspective of being parents of someone with a gender identity issue, it was really good to talk to them face to face. They accept their child as he is. I told them my mom took the fact that I’m married to a transsexual hard, but that, hopefully, she will come to accept that I choose to be in this relationship (and that she will accept Mara). If that doesn’t happen, there isn’t anything I can do about it; it’s her choice and I accept that.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

